Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Wait, maybe I am wrong. Am I? Now I am not so sure.

Have you ever known something to be true? That your feelings are reasonable? Then what happens? Them. They make you believe that you are in the wrong. That it is your fault. You need to make the changes. You need to do better.

Manipulators can quickly take a situation and turn it around as fast as it started, and before you know it, you are uttering those same two words, “I’m sorry.” Having now removed myself from a damaging environment, I can see all the times I shrunk away, dissolving my true self to fit the wants of the other.

Emotional abuse is real. The damages are real. The effects are real. But so is power. Your power. Find it and grow it. Take baby steps if you have to, but find your strength and don’t let go.

  • Be confident
  • Look them in the eye
  • Speak in a calm and clear voice
  • Act rationally and not out of emotion
  • Practice being more assertive in other situations
  • Reach out for support
  • Take care of yourself

You can’t change others, but you can change the situation. And you most definitely can change how you continue to be treated.

